August 15, 2023 Board Minutes

Regular Board Meeting

The regular meeting of the Hamlin School Board was held on Tuesday, August 15, 2023. Board members present were: Abraham, Homola, Nelson, N. Opdahl and Stormo. Also present were Superintendent Hulscher, Business Official Gaikowski and patrons of the District. The meeting, called to order by President Homola, and held in the Hamlin Education Center Conference Room, began at 7:00 P.M. and adjourned at 9:13 P.M.

Item #13912 President Homola led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item #13913 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Nelson to adopt the agenda as presented. All voted aye.

CONFLICTS DISCLOSURE: "an inquiry for conflicts disclosure prior to the consideration of any substantive matters; the person subject to this Act publicly discloses his or her interest in a contract, direct benefit or other conflict with any matter on the agenda; the person is excused from discussion and consideration of such matters; the board determines the matter underlying the conflict is fair, reasonable, and not contrary to the public interest; and the disclosure is included in the minutes which are publicly available".

Public Comment: Terry Kasten presented on the sale of Davisco to AgroPur regarding taxable valuation and TIF.

Hamlin Highlight: Sherri Stormo highlighted on the ASBSD/SASD Convention.

Item #13914 Minutes of the July 10, 2023 regular Board Meeting and the July  $18^{\rm th}$  and 19, 2023 special meetings were read and reviewed by the Board. Motion by Stormo, second by Abraham to approve the minutes as presented. All voted aye.

Item #13915 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Nelson to approve the financial reports as submitted by the Business Official. All voted aye.

(see enclosed)

Item #13916 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve the August 23-24 claims except Hamlin Building Center and Hamlin County Farmers Coop. All voted aye.

(see enclosed)

Item #13917 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Nelson to approve the August 23-24 Hamlin Building Center claims. 4-0 Homola abstained.

(see enclosed)

Item #13918 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve the August 23-24 Hamlin County Farmers Coop claims. 4-0 N. Opdahl abstained.

(see enclosed)

Item #13919 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve FY24 work agreements/Long-Term Alternative Instructor: Vickie Krack- HS Study Hall

Aide (1.0 FTE to .6 FTE), Kimberly Chambers- Custodian \$20.50/hr. (.5 FTE), Clayton Nei- CTE \$295/day. All voted aye.

Item #13920 Motion by Nelson, second by N. Opdahl to approve adult breakfast \$2.75. All voted aye.

Item #13921 Motion by Stormo, second by Abraham to approve FY23 Annual Report accepted by Department of Education. All voted aye.

Item #13922 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Stormo to approve resignation: Dean Walsh. All voted aye.

Item #13923 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Nelson to approve removal of Participation of Alternative Instruction Students Policy. All voted aye.

Item #13924 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve amended Early Graduation Policy. All voted aye.

Item #13925 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve open enrollment. All voted aye.

Item #13926 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Stormo to deny open enrollments. All voted aye.

Item #13927 Discussion was held on the NESC Board meeting.

Item #13928 Discussion was held on CTE Building.

Item #13929 Administrative report was given to the Board.

Item #13930 First reading was held on the Computers/Internet Policy.

Item #13931 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to enter into executive session at 9:09 P.M. pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2, as amended, discussing the expulsion, suspension, discipline, assignment of, or the educational program of a student. All voted aye.

Item #13932 President Homola declared the Board out of executive session at 9:12 P.M.

Item #13933 The regular Board meeting for the month of September, 2023 will be held Monday, September 11, 2023 at 7:00 P.M.

Item #13934 There being no further business, President Homola declared the meeting adjourned.

Terri L. Gaikowski Business Official Joe Homola President of the Board