April 8, 2024 Board Minutes

Regular Board Meeting

The regular meeting of the Hamlin School Board was held on Monday, April 8, 2024. Board members present were: Abraham, Homola, Nelson, N. Opdahl and Stormo. Also present were Superintendent Hulscher, Business Official Gaikowski and patrons of the District. The meeting, called to order by President Homola, and held in the Hamlin Education Center Conference Room, began at 5:00 P.M. and adjourned at 7:01 P.M.

Item #14084 President Homola led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item #14085 Motion by Stormo, second by N. Opdahl to adopt the agenda adding approve engaging with Colliers Securities LLC as an investment manager for short-term fixed rate investments. All voted aye.

CONFLICTS DISCLOSURE: "an inquiry for conflicts disclosure prior to the consideration of any substantive matters; the person subject to this Act publicly discloses his or her interest in a contract, direct benefit or other conflict with any matter on the agenda; the person is excused from discussion and consideration of such matters; the board determines the matter underlying the conflict is fair, reasonable, and not contrary to the public interest; and the disclosure is included in the minutes which are publicly available".

Public Comment: Paul Everson, Monica Everson and Troy Randall spoke.

Hamlin Highlight: Brody Randall- Undefeated State Champion Wrestler and All American AAU; Hamlin Boys Basketball Team State A Champions; Marissa Bawdon and Addison Neuendorf- were selected to the GBB NEC all Conference Team; Addison Neuendorf- GBB 1st Team All-State; Jackson Wadsworth and Evan Stormo-BBB 3rd Team All NEC; Tyson Stevenson and Easton Neuendorf- 1 Team All NEC; Easton Neuendorf- NEC Player of the Year; Tyson Stevenson, Evan Stormo and Easton Neuendorf- All Tournament Team; Tyson Stevenson- 2nd Team All-State BBB; Easton Neuendorf- 1st Team All-State BBB.

Item #14086 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to adopt the following resolution:

Resolution 24-04-01

The Hamlin School Board wishes to recognize and congratulates the Hamlin Boys Basketball Team on their State A Championship and Todd Neuendorf and Travis Wadsworth on Region Coach of the Year.

Also, recognize and congratulate the following individuals:

<u>Wrestling</u> Brody Randall- Undefeated State Champion Wrestler

Basketball

Addison Neuendorf- GBB 1st Team All-State Tyson Stevenson, Evan Stormo and Easton Neuendorf- All Tournament Team Tyson Stevenson- BBB 2nd Team All-State Easton Neuendorf- BBB 1st Team All-State

All voted aye.

Item #14087 Minutes of the March 11, 2024 regular Board Meeting were read and reviewed by the Board. Motion by Abraham, second by N. Opdahl to approve the minutes as presented. All voted aye.

Item #14088 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve the financial reports as submitted by the Business Official. All voted aye.

(see enclosed)

Item #14089 Motion by Nelson, second by Abraham to approve the April 2023-2024 claims except Hamlin Building Center and Hamlin County Farmers Coop. All voted aye.

(see enclosed)

Item #14090 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Stormo to approve the April 2023-2024 Hamlin Building Center claims. 4-0 Homola abstained.

(see enclosed)

Item #14091 Motion by Abraham, second by Nelson to approve the April 2023-2024 Hamlin County Farmers Coop claims. 4-0 N. Opdahl abstained.

(see enclosed)

Item #14092 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve the following resignations: Tiana Holmquist- SpEd Para; Riley Miller- Teacher; Shannon Symens- Teacher; Kim Chambers- Custodian and Abby Mueller- CTE Instructor. All voted aye.

Item #14093 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Nelson to adopt the following resolution:

Resolution 24-04-02

The Hamlin School Board wishes to recognize and thank Shannon Symens for 16 years of service to the Hamlin School District.

All voted aye.

Item #14094 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Stormo to approve work agreement: Amber Rasmussen- HS Study Hall Para \$15.00/hr. All voted aye.

Item #14095 Motion by Abraham, second by Nelson to approve Membership in SDHSAA FY25. All voted ave.

Item #14096 Motion by Stormo, second by N. Opdahl to amend FY 23-24 Calendar. All voted aye.

Item #14097 Motion by Abraham, second by N. Opdahl to approve FY25 Master contract. All voted aye.

Item #14098 Motion by N. Opdahl, second by Stormo to approve engaging with Colliers Securities LLC as an investment manager for short term fixed rate investments. All voted aye.

Item #14099 Discussion was held on the NTHS Board meeting.

Item #14100 Discussion was held on the NESC Board meeting.

Item #14101 Discussion was held on the CTE Building.

Item #14102 Administrative report was given to the Board.

Item #14103 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to enter into executive session at 6:11 P.M. pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2, as amended, preparing for contract negotiations or negotiating with employees or employee representatives and discussing the qualifications, competence, performance, character, or fitness of any public officer or employee or prospective public officer or employee. All voted aye.

Item #14104 President Homola declared the Board out of executive session at 7:00 P.M.

Item #14105 The regular Board meeting for the month of May 2024 will be held Monday, May 13, 2024 at 7:00 P.M.

Item #14106 There being no further business, President Homola declared the meeting adjourned.

Terri L. Gaikowski Business Official Joe Homola President of the Board