April 14, 2025 Board Minutes

Regular Board Meeting

The regular meeting of the Hamlin School Board was held on Monday, April 14, 2025. Board members present were: Abraham, Homola, Nelson and Stormo. Absent: N. Opdahl. Also present were Superintendent Hulscher, Business Official Gaikowski, and patrons of the District. The meeting, called to order by President Homola, and held in the Hamlin Education Center Conference Room, began at 7:00 P.M. and adjourned at 9:39 P.M.

Item #14362 President Homola led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item #14363 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to adopt the agenda as presented. 4-0

CONFLICTS DISCLOSURE: "an inquiry for conflicts disclosure prior to the consideration of any substantive matters; the person subject to this Act publicly discloses his or her interest in a contract, direct benefit or other conflict with any matter on the agenda; the person is excused from discussion and consideration of such matters; the board determines the matter underlying the conflict is fair, reasonable, and not contrary to the public interest; and the disclosure is included in the minutes which are publicly available".

Public Comment: none

Hamlin Highlight: Hamlin Wrestling, Hamlin Girls Basketball team, Hamlin Boys Basketball team.

Item #14364 Motion by Abraham, second by Nelson to adopt the following resolution:

Resolution 25-04-01

The Hamlin School Board wishes to recognize and congratulate the following individuals:

Wrestling

Tate Everson- competed in the State Wrestling Tournament

Girls Basketball

3rd place in 2025 State A Tournament

LCC All-Conference Team- Addison Neuendorf, Addie Steffensen, and Jo Steffensen

All-Conference NEC $1^{\rm st}$ Team- Addison Neuendorf and Addie Steffensen, $2^{\rm nd}$ Team- Issie Steffensen and $3^{\rm rd}$ Team- Jo Steffensen All Tournament Team- Addison Neuendorf

All State 1st Team- Addison Neuendorf, $2^{\rm nd}$ Team- Addie Steffensen Academic All State- Addie Steffensen, Jo Steffensen and Talayna Opdahl

Boys Basketball

2nd place in 2025 State A Tournament

LCC All-Conference Team- Jackson Wadsworth, Evan Stormo and Easton Neuendorf

NEC All-Conference $1^{\rm st}$ Team- Easton Neuendorf and Evan Stormo, $2^{\rm nd}$ Team- Jackson Wadsworth and Zac VanMeeteren

All Tournament Team- Easton Neuendorf and Jackson Wadsworth

All State $1^{\rm st}$ Team- Easton Neuendorf and $3^{\rm rd}$ Team- Evan Stormo Academic All State- Easton Neuendorf, Dawson Noem, Zac VanMeeteren, Evan Stormo, Turner Stevenson, Carter Jutting and Ted Smith

All Hamlin fall and winter teams have earned the Team Academic Achievement Award from SDHSAA. 4-0

Item #14365 Minutes of the March 17, 2025 regular Board Meeting were read and reviewed by the Board. Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve the minutes as presented. 4-0

Item #14366 Motion by Nelson, second by Abraham to approve the financial reports as submitted by the Business Official. 4-0

(see enclosed)

Item #14367 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve the April 2024-25 claims except Hamlin Building Center and Hamlin County Farmers Coop. 4-0

(see enclosed)

Item #14368 Motion by Nelson, second by Abraham to approve the April 2024-25 Hamlin Building Center claims. 3-0 Homola abstained.

(see enclosed)

Item #14369 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve the April 2024-25 Hamlin County Farmers Coop claims. 4-0

(see enclosed)

Item #14370 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve increasing a la carte costs to a dollar amount greater than 40% of item cost per South Dakota Child and Adult Nutrition Guidelines (SD CANS). 4-0

Item #14371 Motion by Nelson, second by Abraham to approve the following resignations: Nathan McMullen- CTE Instructor; Tonya Schmit- SpEd Para and Courtney Christensen- MS Track. 4-0

Item #14372 Motion by Abraham, second by Nelson to approve Welder bids: \$800 Matt & Josie Beld, \$800 Lance Koistinen, \$750 Cameron Larson, and \$687.80 Ken Schmit. 4-0

Item #14373 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to amend FY25 School Calendar. 4-0

Item #14374 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve FY25 cocurricular contracts: Shannon Symens- MS Track \$2,309 and Scott Warrington-MS Golf \$1,469. 4-0

Item #14375 Motion by Stormo, second by Nelson to approve FY26 Certified Master Contract. 4-0

Item #14376 Motion by Abraham, second by Stormo to approve CTE Building change order #5. Motion failed. 0-4

Item #14377 Motion by Nelson, second by Stormo to approve FY26 contracts: Kylee Thue- Elementary Teacher \$48,250, Riley Seeds- SpEd Teacher \$48,250 and Samantha Koehn- HS Teacher \$2,080. 4-0

Item #14378 Discussion was held on the NESC Board meeting.

Item #14379 Discussion was held on the CTE Building.

Item #14380 Administrative report was given to the Board.

Item #14381 Motion by Stormo, second by Abraham to enter into executive session at 8:01 P.M. pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2, as amended, to discuss the qualifications, competence, performance, character, or fitness of any public officer or employee or prospective public officer or employee. 4-0

Item #14382 President Homola declared the Board out of executive session at 9:38 P.M.

Item #14383 The regular Board meeting for the month of May 2025 will be held Monday, May 12, 2025 at 7:00 P.M.

Item #14384 There being no further business, President Homola declared the meeting adjourned.

Terri L. Gaikowski Business Official Joe Homola
President of the Board